Every now and then, we all like to take a little trip down Nostalgia Boulevard, window-shop on Reminiscence Road and finally arrive at Remembrance Court. Criticise social media sites as much as you like, it doesn’t change the fact that it enables you to view your life in snapshots and captions at the click of a button (or a tap on the trackpad). If you’re lucky, your wall of personal history will show a minimum amount of mind-boggling stupidity and embarrassing behaviour. And if you’re ever luckier, it will show you your development as a human being and how much you have grown as the years have passed you by.
All my social networking profile told me was that I was unusually adept at keeping my crippling neuroses private and that I had a tendency to post too many photos (albeit not drunken ones). It certainly didn’t betray my various little quirks that make me the unique (ha-ha) human being that I undoubtedly am.

As far as life goes, I like to think I take it seriously enough that several years down the track, upon looking back, I won’t have to cover my face in shame and ask myself what I was doing. But at the same time, I have enough down time reserved that I won’t suddenly crack and take a chainsaw to my neigbourhood.

26,000 words into my book, I am still enjoying the writing process as I tend to work on the sections that interest me and then double back to the parts that eventually intrigue me. I started writing in January and for the first three weeks, I was churning out a 1000 words a day, only to experience a sort of lethargic passivity for the month. My original plan had been to continue the trend of productivity I had experienced and finish the book before my semester began. But now I find myself juggling university work, actual work, writing and my martial arts training. I’ve been asked how I squeeze it all in and whether it affects my social life. Luckily for me, the people I know well and like are the people I attend classes with and the people I train with. And so my revised deadline for this book is 4th of June, a day before the day of my birth, What a glorious day it will be this year – having completed my first draft I fully intend to launch my quarter-life crisis with a vengeance. What is this quarter-life crisis, you ask? Well, operating on the law of averages, the average woman in Australia lives up to 84 years of age. Assuming everyone is familiar with the concept of a mid-life crisis, I developed the theory that we ought to implement a quarter-life crisis, just to shake things up in our early twenties. Bearing in mind that I am nearly 3 years late for my quarter-life crisis, I plan to celebrate my birthday with a phase of over-the-top clothing, a complete image overhaul, and an insanely unsustainable lifestyle. The obligatory flashy car and mistress are elements I shall skip as I neither have the funds for a new set of wheels nor am that way inclined.

I have to admit that indulging my rambling tendencies has been utterly medicinal. Stay posted for my next update!

